Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED)

LEED is a rating system first released in 2000 by the United States Green Building Council (USGBC) to evaluate the environmental performance of a building and encourage market transformation towards sustainable design.

The standard is organised into seven major categories of sustainability; Location and Transportation, Sustainable Sites, Water Efficiency, Energy and Atmosphere, Material and Resource, Indoor Environmental Quality, and Innovation and Regional Priority. 

There are currently five versions of the standard:

•    Building Design and Construction (LEED BD+C);
•    Interior Design and Construction (LEED ID+C);
•    Building Operatios and Maintenance (LEED O+M);
•    Neighbourhood Development (LEED ND);
•    Homes (LEED Homes).

This voluntary programme is a credit-based system that allows projects to earn points for environmentally beneficial strategies taken during construction and use of a building.

Obtaining LEED certification projects a positive environmental image to the community, and will result in energy and cost savings over the life of the structure.

We now have an experienced and qualified LEED Green Associate who can provide assistance.